• Billabong Pipe Masters Memories

Billabong Pipe Masters Memories

From John John's double barrel 10 in 2011 to Andy Irons winning the 2006 Pipe Masters on his last wave of a super heat with Kelly Slater, we've asked our athletes for their favorite moment in the history of the Billabong Pipe Masters. Billabong athlete Kai Hing kicks things off by reminiscing about the 2014 event when fellow countryman and current CT competitor Julian Wilson won the Triple Crown by beating Gabriel Medina in the Pipe Masters final. Josh Moniz mentions 2006 and being on the beach as Andy Irons had an improbable come from behind win against Kelly Slater in what some say was the greatest final of any surf event in history.

Other memories include John John Florence's insane double barrel 10 in 2011 and Timmy Reyes trading blows with Kelly Slater as the two battled through an epic heat. Occy chimes in with his favorite memory - the year he won the Pipe Masters as a 16 year old. In what was one of the biggest days of competition ever, Occy battled through a six man heat to win his first and only Pipe Masters on his way to a distinguished career as one of surfing's all time greats.

Click here for more Billabong Pipe Masters content and coverage and be sure to watch the 2016 Billabong Pipe Masters beginning December 8, 2016.