• Billabong Pro Tahiti: Day Three

Billabong Pro Tahiti: Day Three

It was an action-packed day here at the Billabong Pro Tahiti. This morning Teahupoo awoke to clear blue skies and overhead tubes filling the lineup. At 8am the first heat of round 3 began with Brett Simpson and Filipe Toledo. Brett started off strong with an 8-point ride, but was unable to back it up and Filipe’s pair of 8’s had Brett packing his bags.

Other action included Owen Wright with a fiery performance on his forehand, tallying up a couple of 9-point rides, and current World Tour No. 1 Adriano de Souza being knocked out of the event by friend, wildcard and past event winner Bruno Santos. In the next heat, World Tour No. 2 Mick Fanning fell to wildcard Aritz Aranburu spoiling Mick’s chances of taking the ratings lead.

The biggest news from the day came in what many are deeming the Heat of the Year so far between Gabriel Medina and John John Florence. The heat started with Gabriel getting a jump on John John and staying busy. Then, midway through John John locked into two 9-point rides and took a commanding lead. Gabriel then battled back with a 9.27, and followed it immediately up with a 9.73. He came away with a victory, but the whole heat was evidence to the epic back and forth rivalry the two surfers will continue to have on tour.

After heat 8 the call was made to stop the contest for the day due to deteriorating conditions. It was a wild day of competition with the best still yet to come. Keep tabs on all of the action with us and for the live webcast visit worldsurfleague.com.