• Champs crowned at the 2018 Parko’s Grom Stomp

Champs crowned at the 2018 Parko’s Grom Stomp

Sunshine Coast, Queensland (Sunday, September 2nd, 2018) – Eight individual champions have been crowned today at the 11th annual Billabong Parkos Grom Stomp presented by Flight Centre, on a beautiful Spring day at Ann Street reef (Currimundi). Clean 1-2ft waves greeted competitors as competition got underway.

Gold Coaster and last year’s 14 and under boys division winner Marlon Harrison (Coolangatta, QLD) has won the blue ribbon 16 and under boys division this year after scoring a two-wave heat total of 15.63 in the final, defeating Jamie Thomson (Narrabeen, NSW), Ethan Stocks (Coffs Harbour, NSW) and Zane Assink (Yaroomba, QLD) respectively. Harrison placed second in the 14 and under boys final as well. “That was insane. I was a bit rattled getting a second in the 14s, so to win in the 16s was awesome,” said Harrison. “I nearly gave up halfway through, but then I scored that high nine which got me back in the game. The waves were a bit slow so all the boys did well to make it through to the final.”

Ellia Smith (Coolum Beach, QLD) has won the 16 and under girls division, defeating Summer Gauld (Coolum Beach, QLD), last years 14 and under girls winner Raya Campbell (Coolangatta, QLD) and Isabella Caldow (Buderim, QLD) respectively. “It means a lot to win, especially straight after winning the school titles,” said Smith. “All my training is paying off.”

Joalo Mendonasa (Portugal) won the 14 and under boys division, defeating Marlon Harrison (Coolangatta, QLD), Zeb Stokes (Buddina, QLD) and Luke Skelton (Sunrise Beach, QLD) respectively. “I’m so happy to win, I wasn’t expecting that,” said Mendonasa. “The level of surfing at this competition was amazing.” Lucy Tandler (Coolangatta, QLD) has won the 14 and under girls division, defeating Liliana Bowery (Tewantin, QLD), Cali Barrett (Banora Point, NSW) and Poppy Corbett (Cape Woolamai, VIC) respectively.

Sunshine Coaster Ashton Pignat (Mount Coolum, QLD) won the 12 and under boys division, defeating Dane Henry (Fingal Head, NSW) Chez Bos (Burleigh Heads, QLD) and Macklin Flynn (Dawesville, WA) respectively. Another local Jahly Stokes (Buddina, QLD) has taken out the 12 and under girls division, taking out Ruby Berry (Margaret River, WA), Armarnie Barber (Noosa Heads, QLD) and Ruby Barber (Noosa Heads, QLD) respectively.

West Australian Maverick Wilson (Wannanup, WA) has taken out the 10 and under boys division, defeating Will Martin (Coffs Harbour, NSW), Sid Englert (Gracetown, WA) and Max McGillvray (Evans Head, NSW) respectively. Stella Green (Buddina, QLD) has taken out the 10 and under girls division, defeating Oli Taylor (Peregian Beach, QLD), Pipi Taylor (Peregian Beach, QLD) and Amber Faddy (Wurtulla, QLD) respectively. Green was injured earlier in the week after her surfboard hit her in the face, but was resilient and came out on top. Green also won the best overall performance (female) award for her efforts.

For results, click HERE.

Custom JS Surfboard Winners:

Best Barrel: Ethan Stocks

Best Air: Zane Assink

Best Overall Performance - Male: Will Martin

Best Overall Performance - Female: Stella Green

The 2018 Billabong Parko’s Grom Stomp presented by Flight Centre is proudly supported by Billabong, Flight Centre, Beach Beat Surf Shop, JS Surfboards, VonZipper, Kustom, Fast Proof Press, Blue Dinosaur, Nixon, Sign Event, Surfing World, Dakine, Sea FM, North Caloundra Surf School, The Naturally Refreshing Sunshine Coast City Council, Centrepoint Plaza Medical Centre and Surfing Queensland.