• ​Creed McTaggart Wins the Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin Festival

The 19th Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin Festival didn’t disappoint with legends of the sport filling up the heat draw to compete for the prestigious title.

The likes of Occy, Rasta, Creed Mctaggart, Ellis Ericson and Margo attracted thousands of spectators to the point of Burleigh Heads over the weekend to watch the 19th Annual Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin Festival presented by Billabong. With a groomed bank at Burleigh Point and a stacked heat draw we saw Creed Mctaggart take advantage of the fun 2-3 feet of swell that was on offer to take first place in a closely fought Final in the Opens Final. Local boy and crowd favourite Liam O’Brien came out victorious in the Junior Division showcasing seamless stylish surfing to take the win overcoming another Burleigh Local, Toby Mossop.

Photo: 2016 Burleigh Boardriders Single Fin Finalists.

The point came alive each afternoon with live music by the Hanlon Brothers and Babe Rainbow, finishing off each day with epic vibes along the point for spectators of all ages to enjoy.

Photo: Babe Rainbow featuring Rasta finishing off the weekend with solid beach vibes.

Thanks to all the locals and sponsors for another successful event.


Open Mens

1st Creed McTaggart (Won a hand crafted Maywood Single Fin Shaped by Ian Byrne)

2nd Chris Bennetts

3rd Ellis Ericson

4th Ryan Grey

5th Adam Clink

6th Chris Brooks

Junior Divison

1st Liam Obrien - (Won a hand crafted Single Fin Shaped by Gary McNeil)

2nd Toby Mossop

3rd Maddy Job

4th Liam Kelly

5th Quin Bruce

6th Axel Botha

Surf Dive Ski Best Tube of the Event

Toby Johnston

Surf Dive Ski Junior Highest Heat Score

Matty Job

Sponsors: Billabong, Surf Dive Ski, Von Zipper, Sector 9, Surfing Queensland, City of Gold Coast, Stryker Media, Fast Proof Press

An impressive collection of Single Fins lined up along the point of Burleigh Heads.

Criteria for the event is to ride a single fin surfboard shaped before 1985.

Event winner Creed Mctaggart making the most of the fun conditions at Burleigh Point.

Rasta in his element racing down the line on a Burleigh gem.

Local Hero Ryan Grey floating over a section which saw him earn one of the highest scores of the event.

The event is all about having fun, even if it means surfing like a cockroach.

The waves turned on tubes like this scored big.

Beau Foster inspects the crafts on hand.

The locals and spectators played an influential role in creating a special vibe on the point on finals day.

The Billabong Women’s Bikini Truck was set up showcasing all their latest styles and were giving away free snow cones and popcorn for the kids.

The 2015 Single Fin Trophies awarded to all 6 finalists of each division.

Junior winner Liam O’Brien and Occy.

Open champion Creed Mctaggart won himself a hand crafted Maywood Single Fin.

Crowd favourite Toby Johnston receives a $1500 gift voucher to Surf Dive N Ski for best tube ride of the event.

All photos by Duncan Macfarlane.