• World's Best Tackle Monstrous Teahupo'o at Billabong Pro Tahiti, Swell Continues to Build

TEAHUPO'O, Taiarapu/French Polynesia (Friday, August 26, 2011) - The world's best surfers tackled solid six-to-eight foot plus (2 - 2.5 metre plus) waves at the infamous lefthander of Teahupo'o today as the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui completed Round 2 and the opening three heats of Round 3.

Event No. 5 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Billabong Pro Tahiti ran in some of the biggest surf ever in the event's 13-year history today, with some phenomenal performances logged by the ASP Top 34.

Jeremy Flores (FRA), 23, current No. 15 on the 2011 ASP World Title rankings, proved to be the most in-form surfer of the day, surviving the opening heat of the morning in terrifying conditions against local wildcard Heiarii Williams (PYF) before besting lethal replacement surfer Cory Lopez (USA), 34, in Round 3 of competition.

Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 29, current ASP World No. 25, scored the first Perfect 10 of the event this morning, navigating a backless eight-foot (2.5 metre) monster from the south end of the point through the west bowl to the eruption of applause and hoots from the hundreds in the channel. The fearless Brazilian was exuberant after his Round 2 victory.

Josh Kerr (AUS), 27, survived the shootout of the event this afternoon in Round 3, going blow-for-blow against an inspired performance from 2011 ASP Dream Tour rookie Julian Wilson (AUS), 22. While the youngster jumped out to an early lead with a near-perfect 9.67 on his opening ride, but it was Kerr who would answer back with his own 9.70 out of a possible 10 at the end of the heat to take the win and advance through to Round 4.

The day would host some major upsets in the context of the 2011 ASP World Title Race with three of the Top 5 eliminated in Round 2 of competition.

Brett Simpson (USA), 26, current ASP World No. 31, caused the upset of the event, dispatching the current frontrunner in the hunt for the 2011 ASP World Title, Joel Parkinson (AUS), 30, in Round 2 of competition.

Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) caused another major upset this morning, sending current No. 5 on the ASP World Title rankings, Taj Burrow (AUS), 32, packing in Round 2 of competition.

Michel Bourez (PYF), 25, current No. 7 on the ASP World Title Rankings, utilized his superior local knowledge today to thread some impressive barrels on his backhand, netting a 17.04 out of a possible 20, en route to Round 3.





Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

When competition resumes, up first will be Michel Bourez (PYF), 25, up against Dusty Payne (HAW), 22, in Heat 4 of Round 3.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui will be available via http://www.billabongpro.com or check out the HEAT ANALYZER!

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for an even larger and very solid, long period SSW swell to show Saturday, fading Sunday. Another solid SSW swell could move in on Monday, before easing Tuesday. Moderate E trades prevail Saturday before backing down by the end of the weekend, with very light wind possible early next week.

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com


Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 9.67 def. Heiarii Williams (PYF) 0.17
Heat 2: Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 14.50 def. Taj Burrow (AUS) 8.50
Heat 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 17.10 def. Gabe Kling (USA) 6.60
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) 11.50 def. Adam Melling (AUS) 1.83
Heat 5: Brett Simpson (USA) 13.34 def. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 10.33
Heat 6: Josh Kerr (AUS) 15.60 def. Bede Durbidge (AUS) 6.60
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF) 17. 04 def. Daniel Ross (AUS) 10.86
Heat 8: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 15.17 def. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 10.67
Heat 9: Tiago Pires (PRT) 8.77 def. Kieren Perrow (AUS) 4.83
Heat 10: Jadson Andre (BRA) 7.40 def. Patrick Gudauskas (USA) 6.53
Heat 11: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 13.76 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 11.10
Heat 12: Chris Davidson (AUS) 15.73 def. Heitor Alves (BRA) 8.67


Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 18.63 def. Cory Lopez (USA) 8.96
Heat 2: Josh Kerr (AUS) 17.70 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 16.87
Heat 3: Kai Otton (AUS) 13.60 def. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 10.33


Heat 4: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Brett Simpson
Heat 10: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 11: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)